Bursary Recipients 2016


The Arts Offices of Carlow, Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford Local Authorities are pleased to announce the awarding of their annual bursary support to artists of over €50,000.

Artlinks is an initiative of the Arts Offices in these partner counties which is supported by the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon to facilitate professional development opportunities for artists in their communities and across all artistic disciplines.


The successful Bursary Award 2016 applicants for Carlow were:


Emma Martin, Kilbride, Carlow

Visual Arts:

Enda Bowe, Rathnapish

Rennie Buenting, Carlow

Helen Robbins, Myshall


Nuala Dalton, Bagenalstown


Janice De Broithe, Carlow

Angela Keogh, Bagenalstown


Joe Campbell, Bagenalstown

Deirdre Parkes, Carlow

Community Arts:

Pure Thinking Group, Carlow


Liam O'Neill, Borris


Orla Ryan, Borris


Aileen Nolan, Carlow Arts Officer said "We were greatly impressed with the level of this years applications and look forward to seeing the proposed projects and proposals coming to fruition over the coming months."


The successful Bursary Award 2016 applicants for Kilkenny were:


Alison Comerford, Kilkenny

Patrick Joseph Rafter, Kilkenny


Ken McGuire and John Morton, Kilkenny

Susie Lamb, Kilkenny

Gillian Grattan, Kilkenny


Mary Butler, Arts Officer, Kilkenny County Council said, "The standard of applications was very high and it is clear to me that the Artlinks bursary award is extremely beneficial for the artists who submitted applications. We are pleased to offer this much needed support to assist Kilkenny artists’ in developing their practise."


The successful Bursary Award 2016 applicants for Waterford were:


Colette Colfer, Waterford City

Clodagh Beresford Dunne, Dungarvan

Lani O’ Hanlon, An Sean Phobail

Louise Bradley, Ardmore

Visual Arts:

Rayleen Clancy, An Rinn

Ciara Gormley, Cappagh

Blawnin Clancy, Dungarvan

Laura McNamara, Dungarvan

Jane Jermyn, Lismore

Music: David Power, Coolnamsear.

Billy O’ Brien, Butlerstown


Eimear Cheasty, Waterford city

Róisín Power Hackett, Kill


Margaret Organ, Arts Officer said, "Waterford City & County Council received the largest amount of application in the 10 years in which this scheme has been running. The standard was very high and we are pleased to offer practical support to assist Waterford artists in developing their practice."


The successful Bursary Award 2016 applicants for Wexford were:


Caroline Busher, Enniscorthy

Suzanne Power, Clonroche, Enniscorthy

Mary O’Brien, Wexford

Visual Arts:                       

Mary-Claire Kehoe, Clonattin, Gorey

Richard Carr, Ramsgate Village, Gorey

Alanna O’Kelly, Brian Hand and Orla Ryan, Wexford & Carlow

Orla Bates, Kilmore

Dance & Film Making:      

Tammie Vivian Brody Hayes, Barntown Wexford          


Philip Knight, Assistant Staff Officer, Arts Department, said, "This represents a significant investment in artists from the ArtLinks partner regions. These bursaries provide the means for artists to expand their practice and develop their skills base. Wexford County Council receives a high number of applications each year and this year was no exception. The standard was very high and we are pleased to offer this much needed support to assist Wexford artists."


 Artists in the partner counties in all art forms can register free of charge on Artlinks.ie to avail of supports.